Stunning and Extremely Rare Georgian Irish Heavy Gauge Hand Cut Crystal Fruit Bowl or Centerpiece of traditional circular outline, of outstanding quality and condition. Circa 1800 - 1825.
The unusual fan-cut decorative rim above a deep cut diamond pattern all-round body ending on a lower tier circular base with star cut pattern underneath. Made in Ireland in either Waterford or Belfast. This piece is unmarked, early pieces were not usually.
*This piece is over quarter of an inch in thickness allover.
Condition: Good condition for such an early piece of rare Irish glass. No inside clouding, wonderful evidence of age wear at base underneath, no visible imperfections anywhere.
*Stunning rare piece of Irish Led Crystal with a unique slightly “grey” hint of colour, see images.
Diameter: (at widest) 9.25” (23cm). Height: (just over) 3.5” (9cm).
Shipped to Glasgow, Scotland.
Provenance: Purchased at Harrods Antiques floor London in 1965, since the property of a Northern Irish Gentleman
The history of Irish Hand Cut Crystal goes back to the late 17th century. George Ravenscroft started the tradition in 1676. The glassmaker added lead oxide to the silicates that make up the molten glass. The process achieved a softness that allowed the glass to be blown and carved while remaining hard and clear as it cooled. The first crystal factory in Ireland opened in County Tyrone in 1771.
The Creation of Waterford Crystal
The Waterford Crystal we know today back in 1783 with George and William Penrose. Their vision was to “create the finest quality crystal for drinking vessels and decorative objects of beauty for the home.”
The Penrose brothers sought the expertise of renowned glassmaker John Hill in 1785. Hill that began the process of polishing the glass to give the unique Waterford Crystal shine now known the world over. Hill left Waterford in 1788 after a major disagreement with the Penrose brothers. Waterford cut glass was already being exported to the United Kingdom and USA at this time as its popularity grew.
William Penrose passed away in 1796 and the business was sold two years later to James Ramsey, Ambrose Barcroft and Jonathan Gatchell. Gatchell later became the sole owner of the company until his death in 1823. His son George formed a partnership with George Saunders which would last until 1848. However, the business suffered during this period due to new duties imposed on the manufacture and exportation of glass. The factory ceased production in 1851. George Gatchell relocated to England where he lived until his death 30 years later.
We are pleased to offer this rare quality piece of Irish history for sale on-line.